U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > New York > New York City
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 06-11-2010, 07:19 PM

12 posts, read 19,723 times

Advertisements

Hey everyone! I'm only in my second year of college this coming semester, but I'm planning on moving to New York as soon as I can afterwards, barring anything unexpected. I was just wondering if you could point me to any areas you might think would be a good fit. I love being out and about in the city, but when I say that, I mean just walking around enjoying the area, not necessarily clubbing, in fact, I could do without clubbing entirely without any problem. I'm looking at my starting salary *probably* being around 55,000 annually, which if I've looked at everything right, should mean I'm looking at between a $1000 and $1500 rent. I'm just really looking for a young, nice crowd and a safe area. I'd love to live in Manhattan, that would be my dream, but I don't think that's feasible on my salary. Near the subway would be great. What do you guys think?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 06-12-2010, 01:00 PM

11,688 posts, read 21,293,643 times
You can definitely do Manhattan on your salary WITH a roomate. Without one, you're probably looking at outer boroughs or waaay upper Manhattan.

For now, focus on your grades, networking with alumni from your school who live and work in NYC, and getting the best internship you can. Getting a job in NYC is the hard part and where you should focus your energy. Figuring out where to live and play is the easy part.

Old 06-12-2010, 04:09 PM