U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > New York > New York City
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 07-16-2010, 05:10 PM

3 posts, read 3,978 times

Advertisements

Hello all, I am a newbie to New York, 35 years young and have a great career opportunity opening in New York City. I am just scratching the surface and need information so this site seemed to offer a great way to get a start on finding out about New York City before the big move.

So here goes, my offices will be in the vicinity of the 100 block of East 55th. I will be making approx 50K a year which isn't the lap of luxury but I hope gives me a decent start. I need to know about; apartment costs with a location near subway or trains in a safe area. Shopping, food, entertainment and probably a million other things that I can't think of right now. Thanks, I appreciate any info you want to share.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 07-16-2010, 10:27 PM

194 posts, read 535,196 times
If you could be a bit more specific in terms of what you're looking for in a neighborhood, it would probably help people offer advice.

For $50K/year, you probably won't be able to live in Manhattan - at least not without a roommate - but it's definitely doable in Queens, Brooklyn, or the Bronx. Depending upon how you plan on allocating your resources (do you want to eat out a lot/sometimes? will you need to take taxis every so often? is proximity to nightlife important?), and how long of a commute you're willing to make, there are many possibilities.

Old 07-16-2010, 11:59 PM

10,648 posts, read 20,806,009 times