U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > New York > New York City
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 07-20-2010, 12:23 PM

7 posts, read 12,696 times

Advertisements

Some Background:
I'm a student who moved to the city from a much smaller town, and before that a very rural part of the country. Obviously, I moved to the city for the same reason that most people do, opportunity; and that's why I love living in the city. However, a majority of my friends back home share a stigma of the urban environment and being from the "country" I understand them.

To put things in context:
I'm studying architecture, and all assumptions and associations of sustainability aside I appreciate that the worlds population is increasing and that as a civilization we are moving closer and closer to a truly global
society and economy. For me this implies that urban centers around the world will continue to grow as well as the areas surrounding them, turning more and more land into suburban sprawl, which from my own experience has been the worst of the three situations (urban, suburban, rural) to live in. My hypothesis is that people leave the city to escape the stress and shear excess (noise, people, pollution, etc.) of the city for the peace and wide-open spaces of the country-side. That area then transforms into urban sprawl once enough people have followed suit and as I have observed the land no longer has the benefits of the rural country-side or the urban environment.