U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > New York > New York City
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 07-22-2010, 09:52 AM

1 posts, read 5,816 times

Advertisements

Hi everyone! I'm about to move to NYC from Louisiana. I will be living and working in the Bronx. I am a speech therapist and I will be providing early intervention services to children ages 0-3 in their homes and other community settings. My primary location will be in the South Bronx. How safe do you think this is? I have heard that it can be pretty rough. Also, I plan on staying in the Kolping Residence on Grand Concourse until I can get settled. Has anyone heard of this place? I really need to know if I should take the job. It pays very well but I don't want to do something that will be dangerous. So, I would appreciate any advice that people are willing to give me.

Thanks
Quick reply to this message

Old 07-22-2010, 12:16 PM

49 posts, read 266,025 times
Go for it, please. The South Bronx has a stigma that has outlived its reality. It's rough, make no mistake, but not as bad as some people would have you believe. Exercise some common sense when travelling at night and everything will work out.

Old 07-23-2010, 05:43 PM

244 posts, read 562,867 times
Living/Working in the South Bronx

Aside from the "Living" part, . . it's ok.

Old 07-23-2010, 06:54 PM

386 posts, read 835,627 times
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tasha212 View Post