U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > New York > New York City
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 1.5 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
Jump to a detailed profile or search
site with Google Custom Search

Business Search - 14 Million verified businesses
Search for:  near: 
Reply Start New Thread

Old 11-07-2010, 10:12 PM

10 posts, read 31,326 times
Default need help picking a college, YORK OR BMCC

i got into both CUNY YORK in jamaica and BMCC in manhatten, im not sure which to pick, i heard york, is one is one of the wortst 4 year colleges in nyc and that bmcc is one of the, if not THE best community college in nyc. So i really dont know which to pick and i need help, and my major isnt going to help either since itll prolly be liberal arts or chemistry or physics, which neither has special programs for. Someone that went to either of these, or has some knowledge about which might be better for me if im looking to transfer after a year or 2, because thats what i plan on doing. What college will give me the best chance of getting into a really good college ? and which is just better ?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 11-08-2010, 09:02 AM

412 posts, read 755,495 times
York is a senior (4 yr) college and BMCC is a community (2 yr.) college.

York is not one of the worst colleges in CUNY. Actually it's a very good college.

BMCC is more of a younger crowd of people and is known as a "party school".

If you plan to only stay in school for at least 2 years I suggest you go to BMCC and get your associates degree than transfer.

My daughter graduated from York a year ago and I'm a graduate of BMCC.

Liberal arts also offered in both schools.

Old 11-08-2010, 11:44 AM