U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > New York > New York City
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 10-21-2011, 02:50 PM

3 posts, read 24,579 times

Advertisements

Hello everyone I am new on this forum, found out about it yesterday and decided that I would join. Looking for some great advice on moving.

I am a recent college grad went to UGA and majored in economics. I have a job offer in NYC in Wall Street, I have never been to NY before and I am very exciting and anticipating this move.

I am 23 and looking for a nice neighborood to move in to that is clean, safe, and fun. My budget is $1,200 for rent. I will be flying over there next weekend.

What neighborhoods in NYC would you recommend for a person in my situation?

My other questions are:

1. Will I need a car?

2. Has anyone else from Atlanta moved to NYC? How much different is Atlanta from NYC? How have you adjusted?

3. How bad are winters in NYC? Does it snow a lot? After winter what month does it start to really heat up?

4. How is the dating scene in NYC?

5. Finally, since I will be coming there as a toruist for one week, I am going to see all the sites. What are some good restaurants in NYC, I especially want to try the pizza that NYers rave about

Any cheap, clean hotels in NYC that have suites?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 10-21-2011, 03:22 PM

349 posts, read 660,611 times
I made a similar move a few years ago. See my input below.

1. Depending upon where you live you won't need a car. However if you have one and want to bring it you may want to consider the outerboroughs or NJ.