U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > New York > New York City
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 04-17-2012, 10:34 PM

196 posts, read 254,754 times

Advertisements

Hey everyone,

i'm planning on going to school for fashion merchandising in 2014. I'm most interested in going to FIT, as i know it is a very great school (arguably the best for fashion in general). As I'll be using my post 911 gi bill to pay for school and provide a stipend i'm not really concerned about paying for tuition. before i joined, i worked in retail of soft goods (american eagle, express, banana republic) for a year in atlanta. during this time, i started school, but dropped out to join the military (completely footing the bill for school by myself, working, and a less than desirable living arrangement made the decision to serve a no brainer). along with tuition payment, i will receive a stipend for living based on the zip code of the school i'm in, for FIT it's about 2800 (which i project will increase slightly by the time i get out). this i would use to pay for an apartment (i prefer to not spend all of that money on rent, to allow some money for savings). to pay for food, other bills, and just general living i would get at least a part time job and work an internship to get more experience.