U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > New York > New York City
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 04-28-2012, 09:17 PM

1 posts, read 3,552 times

Advertisements

I am a 38yr professional single mother of a 8 year old boy, who just got a transfer to Manhattan (October). Coming from Boston (Jamaica Plain) , while not the cheapest city, I know that what I pay here, will only be a mere fraction of what I will have to pay in New York. I lived in a 400sq ft studio in Chelsea for a few years after college. I absolutely loved the neighborhood, but I just know that's not happening this time! I'm not too familiar with the other 4 borough's, but I know that's where we will be going this time. It is important to continue to raise my son in a diverse and family friendly neighborhood, with good (public) schools. My son is also very involved in local theater and dance programs here in Boston, and we look forward to him continuing that. I am not 100% sure what I can afford, but have been looking at a few neighborhoods in Brooklyn (Dumbo, Brooklyn Heights), but they seem quite pricey for the space we need. I was thinking maybe Queens, but I don't know much about it. I am still paying off grad school (yea, yuck, I know...), so right now I'd say that my budget is probably $2500 a month for a 2 bedroom. I'm not too sure if I can get anything for that, so if I have to raise the budget a bit for the best neighborhood, that may be a possibility. My biggest concern (like middle of the night panic attacks lol) is that my son will be going to school in our neighborhood, and I'll be working all the way in Midtown. Considering th