Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > New York > New York City
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 08-09-2013, 11:42 AM

1 posts, read 14,044 times

Advertisements

hi guys, I am considering two very nice apartment in harlem, one in the west, on 129th street, near Convent Avenue, the other one in the east, on 102nd street and 2nd avenue. I am a student and need to go home late at night a few days every week. Both the apartments look very nice, but I am a little bit hesitant, coz I am not familiar with the neighborhood. are they safe? and safety wise, which would be better? you can say neither and find some other place if you do think so. Thank you guys! Cheers!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 08-09-2013, 12:44 PM

33,333 posts, read 46,774,611 times
I would go for 128th and Convent.

Forum TOS: http://www.city-data.com/forumtos.html

Old 08-09-2013, 12:53 PM

260 posts, read 448,316 times
What school are you attending? I would go for 102 and second, there are working class Mexicans living there, I don't find that to be a high crime area. It's only 1 stop from 96th and lex which is that invisible dividing line between hoity toity and poor.

128th and Convent is a bit too far from Columbia U for my taste, I wouldn't feel safe there on my own.

Old 08-09-2013, 12:56 PM

1,119 posts, read 2,641,344 times
From the second hand info I gather from this board, most people say West Harlem is safer than East Harlem in general.

Old 08-09-2013, 01:31 PM

6,885 posts, read 9,879,353 times
Quote:
Originally Posted by dcasty View Post