U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > New York > New York City
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 12-11-2014, 06:16 PM

1 posts, read 2,735 times

Advertisements

I live in a co-op, and one of the units above me recently started undergoing a renovation. I was woken up on Tuesday by loud drilling and found a piece of paper slipped under my door that said, "Please be advised that renovations will be starting today. We apologize for any inconvenience."

"Inconvenience" is an understatement! I'm a student, and finals began this week. I wish I had been given some kind of advanced notice so I could've perhaps begged the unit's owner to delay construction, because the noise is incredibly distracting when I'm trying to study. As frustrating as it is, it's being done within legal working hours, so all I can do is find somewhere else to study (and complain to my classmates, of course).

What's really disturbing me is the dust that's falling over certain areas of my apartment. I came back from class last night to find my kitchen covered in dust. It looked like no one had stepped foot in there for months, but I'd just cleaned the stove and counters the night before that and floors over the weekend. It was strange, to say the least. It's also in the air, even when the construction has stopped for the night, and it makes me want to sneeze. I already have allergies, I don't need to add more dust!