U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > New York > New York City
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 09-28-2015, 04:33 PM

1 posts, read 643 times

Advertisements

My wife and I have decided to move to New York City after visiting twice. We very much like the energy, diversity and opportunities. We have two daughters (6 and 10) and we are moving from Texas. I have a degree in Computer Science and seeking a job in software or web technologies. My wife is in the medical field. Finding jobs is our top priority and I'm hoping for a combine income between 110k to 125k if all goes well. Looking for tips or suggestion on apartments, neighborhoods and good schools. Thanks in advance.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 09-28-2015, 04:43 PM

516 posts, read 650,030 times
Find jobs before you move.

Old 09-28-2015, 04:50 PM

2,593 posts, read 3,729,063 times
You will want to aim higher than your combined income and it is possible with your fields. Depending on actual profession, if your wife is a nurse, she can earn 80k by herself as a friend of mine clears that as a case worker. Plus with 2 daughters you will want a 2 or 3 bedroom, and that will run you close to or more than 3k a month in the good parts of Brooklyn. Aim for combined income of 130-150k. You need to make 40x the rent for apartments here so keep that in mind.

If I were you, I would wait and see where you land jobs first. Don't rule out other parts of the city. Mainly because where you work will end up largely dictating where you live, unless you enjoy commuting 2-3 hours a day.