U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > New York > New York City
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 06-07-2017, 01:18 PM

2 posts, read 7,837 times

Advertisements

I've been a resident of Electchester for 19 years. Was originally in a two bedroom in Third Housing. I had to volunteer for almost 9 years to get a three bedroom apartment for my daughter and son. Of course, if I knew the right person, I would have been in quicker. Now that the kids are gone, I figured I'd be a good cooperator and release my apartment to a family. I contacted the office and wrote a formal letter to let them know that I was interested in moving. No word for months and then I got a call asking me to come in right away (even if I didn't have the paperwork necessary) - I should have known something was up. Went through the signing of some paperwork and discovered that now they are charging people who decline an apartment - $300 from Housing and $500 from Management - and unbelievably - now you're not allowed to see where you're going to live. The implication is that if you don't sign, you can't move - and furthermore, moving expenses (even if you're downgrading) are around 7-8 Thousand dollars. Well, I never signed that paperwork, but was able to see the apartment they were offering - what a complete misrepresentation of a two bedroom - and the building - filthy - I 've been told is the Worst in Third Housing. The next day I called and declined - and was promptly charged $500 on my next statement (which I have not paid) - And am being charged a $50.00 late fee every month I don't pay. So, since I've been to