U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > New York > New York City
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old Yesterday, 04:11 PM

1 posts, read 79 times

Advertisements

Hi Everyone!
Sorry ahead of time, i'm not good at writing.

I believe I am living in a rent stabilized apartment but am being told by my landlord Im not. My landlord mentioned twice that I do not have a rent stabilized apartment. Once when I signed my lease to move in. The second time was last week when my lease renewal letter came in. It stated in bold letters, "THIS APARTMENT IS NOT SUBJECT TO RENT STABILIZATION".

I have spent a lot of time researching and feel pretty confident that i'm correct, but was hoping someone on these forums could validate my information before I attempt to approach my landlord about this.

Details about my lease/building and why I think it's a rent stabilized apartment
- Lease started on Jan 15th 2018 for an all utilities included apartment with a preferential rent of $1600, the legal amount is $2400.
- When I signed my lease in 2018, it came with a "Lease rider for rent stabilized tenants" (which I think means my apartment is rent stabilized), as well as another lease rider that outlined the legal rent and preferential rent.
- I have requested and received my apartments rent history from the DHCR's Office of Rent Administration and my apartment is coded RS under apartment status (Rent Stabilized)
- Built In The 1930's and has over 115 units

----------

Now for the second part of my post, do i qualify for the new rent laws regarding preferential rent that passed on June 2019?