U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > New York > New York City
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 1.5 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
Jump to a detailed profile or search
site with Google Custom Search

Business Search - 14 Million verified businesses
Search for:  near: 
Closed Thread Start New Thread

Old 07-22-2008, 10:22 AM

1 posts, read 12,446 times
Default Parts of bed-stuy to avoid?

I'm new to bed-stuy, white female, living around macdonough & tompkins. i've seen so many differing opinions about the place, and so far i've been pretty comfortable. anyone have anything to offer on parts of bed-stuy to absolutely avoid (i.e., routes NOT to take on the walk home) for someone who's new to the area?

Old 07-22-2008, 12:26 PM

878 posts, read 1,769,153 times
Quote:
Originally Posted by raudrey View Post
I'm new to bed-stuy, white female, living around macdonough & tompkins. i've seen so many differing opinions about the place, and so far i've been pretty comfortable. anyone have anything to offer on parts of bed-stuy to absolutely avoid (i.e., routes NOT to take on the walk home) for someone who's new to the area?
Bed-Stuy is huge and you will definitely know which spots to avoid as you get accustomed to the neighborhood. Personally if you are on MacDonough and Tompkins, you are in a pretty decent area and the places that I would think to stay away from are not in your vicinity nor would they be in your direct transportation route. Just relax and enjoy all the things the neighborhood has to offer.

Old 07-29-2008, 01:05 AM

3 posts, read 25,698 times
Default also new to bedstuy