U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > New York > New York City
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 07-26-2008, 05:08 PM

2 posts, read 6,299 times

Advertisements

Hello my soon to be fellow new yorkers!

I am a Columbia student and am currently looking for an apartment in NYC. I found many that I like in the Upper East Side. However, I'm worried that I won't be able to get class on time since, I have to take a long ride to and from the school. I will be having a schedule approximately from 10AM-9PM.

Does anyone know how to get to Columbia from the upper east side by subway and/or bus? Also, is it quite difficult? How long would it take?

Also, how safe in the upper east side?

Thanks so much and appreciate any and all responses!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 07-26-2008, 05:13 PM

7,079 posts, read 33,738,884 times
The upper East side, as a rule, is exceptionally safe.

Getting to the Columbia campus isn't GREAT, but it isn't awful, if you leave yourself enough time: the number 4 Madison Avenue bus goes right across 110th St and you can walk from there. Other than that it'd be a bus crosstown and a subway or bus up.

Overall it's easier from the West side.

Old 07-26-2008, 08:25 PM

1,278 posts, read 3,665,431 times
Quote:
Originally Posted by Viralmd View Post
The upper East side, as a rule, is exceptionally safe.