U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > New York > New York City
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 08-04-2008, 11:17 AM

2 posts, read 11,161 times

Advertisements

Hi i live in Omaha Nebraska and want to live in one of the 3 big cities but dont know which one? Anyway i am a colleage student grad and is looking for a permanent job and life in these cities. My master is City planner/Urban developer.
Quick reply to this message

Old 08-04-2008, 11:59 AM

1,990 posts, read 6,555,895 times
okay..... thats it? this seems more like a statement than a question.

Old 08-04-2008, 12:20 PM

10,564 posts, read 23,733,838 times
Coming from Omaha, your least culture shock city will likely be Chicago. New York is a great, vibrant city, but it has a high cost of living and can be daunting if you are not at home with crowds, etc. Los Angeles is the most suburban of the cities, but it is sprawl central, and the traffic is no joke, not just a stereotype. Then again, if you're up for an adventure, and are realistic about the city, New York is fantastic.

Old 08-04-2008, 12:27 PM

1,362 posts, read 3,937,097 times
I'm from Omaha and my time in NYC has never been a major culture shock.

I would never live in LA again.

NYC is great but a lot of it is hype. It's horribly expensive just to live there but if you can swing it it might be worth it. I find a lot of people that move there do so just to say they live there. They never really seem to have specific reasons but more like it's the in thing to do.