U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > New York > New York City
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 03-23-2007, 10:28 AM

6 posts, read 20,647 times

Advertisements

I was recently offered a position with NYC Department Of Education and I really want to take it. I am currently a teacher in South Florida and I am barely making ends meet with a salary under $40,000. I know that most people say the cost of living is more up there, but not really compared to the area of Fort Lauderdale that I live in. I am hard pressed to find a decent rental for under $1500. I am still young-26 and I am a single mother of an 8 year old. I feel if I don't at least give it a try, I will regret it forever. I am not trying to live in NYC-I am thinking Queens or Brooklyn. I will receive close to a $10,000 pay increase as well as better benefits and pension. My annual salary will be approx. $50,000. How can I figure out how much I will be paying in taxes? Am I totally crazy for wanting to take on this endeavor-one that I am in no way expecting will be easy? I know I will probably struggle up there too, but I feel for a young, single mother, if I do move and make it, it will feel like the most amazing accomplishment. I am just looking for any advice you all have to offer-on anything from places to live that are reasonable to advice on whether or not I am crazy. I want to do this sooo bad! Plese help!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 03-23-2007, 10:49 AM

9,832 posts, read 21,495,289 times
Quote:
Originally Posted by shorem2679 View Post