U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > New York > New York City
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 03-29-2007, 01:10 PM

1 posts, read 1,978 times

Advertisements

Hi, I'm new to this... please let me know if I'm posting incorrectly!

I'm wanting to move back to NYC and I'm trying to persuade my middle school teacher boyfriend to come with by offering some positive news about teaching in NYC.

He's a 6th and 7th grade teacher at a public school in south central L.A. He's got 7 years teaching under his belt, and is the school's history department chair. He has his masters, and is next-in-line to be the magnet department chair.

I'm not familiar with exact terminology, but I know he is accredited in California os obviously he would need to get accredited in NYC.

But, any general tips anyone? Can anyone tell me the average pay he's looking at? Any tips or info would be greatly, greatly appreciated.

Thank you so much!!!
Quick reply to this message

Old 02-10-2016, 05:20 PM

336 posts, read 243,001 times
Just realized i brought up a post from 07 lol. Sorry people, heres my answer any way.

My wife is a NYC public school teacher. Run for the hills. The job isn't what it used to be.
Pay depends on education. My wife will make over 100 grand but thats after 25 years. In 25 years from now not sure what 100,000 could buy. She currently makes about 50k. Heres a chart that shows pay. It pays for him to get his masters if he doesn't already have it. Doesn't matter how much teaching he has under his belt, he's going to have to start new here. No tenure, he has to earn that with evaluations.