Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > New York > New York City
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 11-10-2009, 12:39 AM

1 posts, read 2,127 times

Advertisements

Hi, I am an 18yo college freshman next fall i wanted to take time off to pursue witting ( currently i am a bio major). Its always been my dream to live in NYC and if went there during the fall semester of next year i will have $5000 to start with. I plan on staying at the YMCA for a week or two while try to find a job. Do you think it will be easy enough for someone w/o much work experience to get a job?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 11-10-2009, 01:05 AM

154 posts, read 535,790 times
If you're looking for a huge challenge, do it. If not, don't. My advice is: Get more work experience, save more money and only move to NYC if you already have a job lined up. Even people with proper education and (lots of) work experience can't find a job in the Big Apple.

Old 11-10-2009, 02:31 AM

1,497 posts, read 3,350,760 times
Find a job first unless you thrive on chaos.

Old 11-10-2009, 08:12 AM

12,766 posts, read 18,366,510 times
I have 5 years of work experience, and 2 college degrees. I have been applying for a (new) job for a year and half already and haven't gotten a single interview. That seems to be the standard here nowadays...so yeah, it's not so easy to just get a job just b/c you want a job.