U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > New York > New York City
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 1.5 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
Jump to a detailed profile or search
site with Google Custom Search

Business Search - 14 Million verified businesses
Search for:  near: 
Reply Start New Thread

Old 11-17-2009, 07:25 PM

1,119 posts, read 1,759,520 times

Advertisements

Yesterday I got stopped by transit police in Queens and was giving a ticket for "Unsafe Riding" (i.e. Walking between the cars) in which the fine is $75.00. For anyone who's been through a similar situation... Is the process similar to getting a traffic ticket? Since this is my very first (and hopefully last) citation (plus the fact that I am a college student) - Do you think i'll be able to get the fine reduced? The cop who wrote the summons explained to me that I can request a reduction of the fee since I have a clean record and that I am a student. Also what happens during the so-called "hearing" -- is it like traffic court? Just trying to get an understanding of the process. Thanks!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 11-18-2009, 06:36 AM

40,059 posts, read 20,017,663 times
I can tell you one thing as an MTA employee (and former conductor): they don't give out enough of those summonses! Every year, there are at least two dozen deaths as a result of people walking between subway train cars. You think they'd have more common sense, but there's apparently an endless supply of people who haven't got any of that quality.

Hopefully, this'll be the last time you have to get ticketed for unsafe riding!

Old 11-18-2009, 11:57 AM

1,144 posts, read 1,393,057 times