U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > New York > New York City
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 11-21-2009, 03:49 PM

5 posts, read 8,296 times

Advertisements

Hello, I'm new to New York City, and considering where I should live. My income will be 5K/month after tax.

The factors I want to consider are:
1) closeness to the workplace (by walking or subway ride), which is Midtown East;
2) quietness: I'm a lighter sleeper.
3) safety: might work late
4) cannot share an apartment with more than 1 person.
5) possibility of taking advantage of the culture events of the city

After asking around, two options which within 20 minutes commute of my work come up:
one is living with a friend of my friend in a 2-bedroom apartment on 14th Street, which costs $1400/month. Pros: roommate is someone I can trust; safety might be better; Cons: noisy street; expensive living.

second is trying to find an apartment along E train in Queens, such as Elmhurst. Pros: cheap rent-reduce the cost half; may be a better sleeping environment at night; Cons: risk of having a good roommate or landlord; safety issue if I work late night

Are there major things I missed or misperceived? Could anyone local give me some advice what would you do if you are in my shoes. Thanks!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 11-21-2009, 04:17 PM

10,604 posts, read 20,734,839 times