U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > New York > New York City
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 1.5 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
Jump to a detailed profile or search
site with Google Custom Search

Business Search - 14 Million verified businesses
Search for:  near: 

Old 03-15-2010, 04:08 PM

3 posts, read 10,945 times
Default Foreign lawyer, pass bar test, limited experience?

I am a law graduate from Australia considering sitting the NY bar test. I have paralegal experience, but only around eight months professional experience as a lawyer.

If I were to pass the bar test, how difficult would it be to find an attorney position in Manhattan? Would I need to obtain a paralegal position for a period of time before applying for an attorney position?

Would it be best to wait a few years for the market to pick up?

Thank you
Quick reply to this message

Old 03-15-2010, 10:03 PM

3,947 posts, read 4,564,852 times
It depends on your law school ranking. The big, corporate firms are very snobby when it comes to law schools.

No one will ever higher you if you work as a paralegal after law school. It's a step down and looks like you couldn't make it as an attorney. I once worked in the Legal and Compliance Department of a well known investment bank. They had a deep prejudice against paralegals with law degrees. They wouldn't even look at the resume.

I have a friend who's an Australian lawyer. He works for NewsCorp.

Old 03-15-2010, 11:31 PM

2,901 posts, read 4,123,221 times
Quote:
Originally Posted by Braxton-Pitt View Post
I am a law graduate from Australia considering sitting the NY bar test. I have paralegal experience, but only around eight months professional experience as a lawyer.