U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > New York > New York City
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 1.5 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
Jump to a detailed profile or search
site with Google Custom Search

Business Search - 14 Million verified businesses
Search for:  near: 

Old 05-14-2010, 03:23 PM

93 posts, read 229,004 times

Advertisements

Can anyone recommend the best route for driving from Fairfield County, CT (will be leaving from either Fairfield or Stamford) to Midtown West (Low 50s and 8th)? I've never done the drive before, but will be renting a small SUV tomorrow to drop off some air conditioners and other misc items.

I'll be leaving tomorrow, Saturday, around 11am-noon. Can I do the Merritt -> Hutch -> ??? Also, what options do I have in ways of bridges?

I'd love to come in and down the west side of manhattan, and then cut over, as opposed to driving down the middle of manhattan and dealing w all that traffic.

Thanks!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 05-14-2010, 03:55 PM

11,592 posts, read 15,949,378 times
Default you could

do the Merritt into the Hutchinson to the Cross County Pkwy to the Saw Mill River Pkwy south which becomes the H Hudson Pkwy. Your only toll is to cross into Manhattan (I think it's $2.75 or maybe more) and continue down H Hudson until you reach 52nd or 50th streets(left turn off the West side hwy) into 8th Avenue or wherever you were going

this most likely would be the best most pleasant route. I 95 most likely will be trafficked at some point and if there is a Yankee game it could be worse

Old 05-14-2010, 03:57 PM

Default as far as bridges

I don't see why you should have to use any others than the H Hudson bridge described above.