U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > New York > New York City
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 05-29-2010, 03:03 PM

9 posts, read 26,703 times

Advertisements

Hello all,

I'm currently a resident of Siloam Springs, AR. Population ~16,000. I've been here for almost six years now. I originally came here from Southern California to go to school but ended up on a different path that has led me to becoming an EMT; hence my cheesy user name. Over the past couple of years I have become very bored with this city and the sedate nature of my job in this city. I would be looking to work for FDNY EMS first as an EMT and eventually as a paramedic.

For the past year or so NYC has captivated me. The size, the percieved potential and opportunities, the vibrancy, the people. Oh, and the tall buildings. Very touristy, I know, but I love skyscrapers and interesting architecture. I crave the experiences that are possible in NYC. The restaurants, bars, nightclubs, etc. Art, in many of it's different forms is also very important to me.

Living car-free is also very important to me. I do own a motorcyle but only have it because I love riding and do need to go further distances quickly in this car-centric city. Therefore the extensive mass transit system of NYC seems ideal to me. Additionally, I am a bicycle nut and can see myself riding all over the city.