Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > New York
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 10-08-2011, 05:05 PM

1 posts, read 4,352 times

Advertisements

Hi there,
Very soon I will be relocating from/to areas mentioned in the title. I am a software engineer.

Due to family reasons I have/want to live near by(say within 130 miles; preferably within 50 miles though) Greenville (in greene county).

Albany (in-the-city, Delmar etc), Kingston, poughkeepsie etc are the seem alright to me, looking in the map, for relocation.

What do you guys suggest? any other areas? considering below:
- temperature, tech jobs, good hang out places, to locate centrally to other places, paying bridge tolls etc.
- I might be allowed to work remotely for my current job(in bay area) from NY, not sure yet though.
- my son turned 4 years last month and he needs go to pre-k

I have been looking in job sites(to get a feel of where the jobs are located), reading through other posts, but my question seemed different hence I posted.

When you get a chance please reply or give me pointers/resources.

Thank you and good weekend.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 10-08-2011, 05:55 PM

92,087 posts, read 122,294,404 times
If you want a balance between things to, good schools and reasonable proximity to work, look into Delmar(Bethlehem Schools), East Greenbush(Columbia Schools), Guilderland, Colonie and maybe even Niskayuna.

Old 10-09-2011, 04:14 PM

655 posts, read 2,322,092 times
Default Relocation from SF Bay to Upstate NY

Quote:
Originally Posted by godavari View Post
Hi there,