Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Non-Romantic Relationships
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 01-30-2013, 06:29 PM

55 posts, read 241,322 times

Advertisements

It's pretty embarrassing to admit it, but I am super anxious about telling my mom about a potential relationship. I'm 24, youngest of 5, live at home with the parents, and work full-time. I have my bachelors degree and work a job that pays decent and is enjoyable. I live at home now mostly to help my parents (who are both in their 60s and with some health problems) and also to focus the bulk of my income on paying off debt. Thing is, I've never really dated before and for all my mom knows, I've never dated at all.

Several months back I met a guy through friends who lives about an hour away from here. We've built up a solid friendship since then through Facebook, Skype and FaceTime. Weary of being "catfished" I've done a background check on him and he's (a) not crazy (b) has a good job, is educated and (c) is overall a very nice guy. We're a good match to date, which is something we've been discussing as of late.

We've decided we'd like to have our first date a week from Saturday. I'm excited about it. We've hit it off great so far and through video chat, and I have no doubt given our personalities that we'll hit it off well in person. We both want the same things, have the same morals etc.