U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Non-Romantic Relationships
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 08-02-2013, 12:25 AM

32,980 posts, read 19,952,237 times

Advertisements

Long story short, my late grandmother had always openly shown favoritism to her other grandchildren, well, she hated my brother Kyle and I the most SIMPLY because we reminded her of our grandfather who cheated on her a long time ago.

She had called us useless because we both had artistic talents. I am a pretty good artist, and my brother Kyle has incredible massive talents. My late grandfather was a pretty decent starving artist. Among her 13 grandchildren, my brother Kyle and I are the only ones who know how to draw.

I remember several years before she passed away, she told me she didn't like both of us because "she didn't know us that well because we were not that close to her." I remember I answered, "I don't really care. I have mom and dad love me dearly, and I have my two brothers who love me very much. That is enough." (my oldest brother Leon has always protected us from her verbal abuse, so obviously, she didn't like him either.)

well, my late boyfriend's birthday is coming up in four days, her anniversary is coming up in about 1 month. I've been thinking about love, death, loss a lot lately. I know for a fact that I don't love my grandmother and I don't feel guilty for saying that. For the longest time, I resented her. I resented her for calling us useless. All the compliments we received growing up are from total strangers. My own grandmother never gave me any. NEVER, not even once.