U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Non-Romantic Relationships
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 10-01-2013, 09:37 AM

193 posts, read 487,329 times

Advertisements

Good friend of mine got a prescription for adderall a couple of weeks ago. She was told to take it every morning.

Then she suddenly tells me how great this prescription is. How she can take it late at night when she is having trouble studying, or in the afternoon during boring classes, etc. She raves about how much better it helps her focus.

Now, I'm no doctor, but to me someone who gets their prescription and immediately starts taking it at times they aren't supposed to, and raving about how great it is, seems like they are getting off to a bad start.

So I talked to her bluntly for a bit about how even legal prescription drugs can ruin people, and it's not something to just goof around with. It's not like coffee where you just take it when you need a boost or anything.

She got all mad and said she felt like she was being intervened upon or something. I told her I just wanted to make sure that she was healthy and that doctors' orders are there for a reason, but that didn't appease her.

So now she's pretty upset with me, but I'm standing by my decision to mention that.

Have I done the right thing, or does she have reason to be offended by what I said?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 10-01-2013, 09:43 AM

56,000 posts, read 54,493,040 times