U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Non-Romantic Relationships
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 12-19-2013, 05:07 PM

6,191 posts, read 15,298,480 times

Advertisements

This is just a vent, I guess. I am a painting contractor. Clients routinely give me keys, garage and security codes so we can work in their homes. They trust me with their homes and property and I do my best at all times to honor their trust.

A general contractor I've worked for for about two years told me today that clients on a job I worked on for him accused me of stealing four dinner sets and some towels. According to him, their rationale was because what was taken was "women things" so it must have been me. (I am the only female subcontractor he has. About a dozen people had access to the home over the course of the job.)

I hope he is telling the truth when he told me he believed me! I feel absolutely sick over this. And very hurt. He is meeting with them early next week and they said they had hidden cameras and proof of who took their stuff. I hope they do! Because that would completely exonerate me. And clearly if one of his guys is stealing - I know them all and can't imagine who - he needs to know.

Accusing someone of stealing without incontrovertible proof is a very serious charge. If the only rationale these people had (and they seemed very nice and reasonable people) was that "women things" were stolen then that is BS because I assure you there is no possible proof I took anything, because I didn't and wouldn't.