U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Non-Romantic Relationships
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 10-02-2014, 05:58 PM

4,571 posts, read 6,992,788 times

Advertisements

I'm 22 years old still living with my parents. In fact, we're actually in the process of moving and should be in the new house by the end of this month.

Anyway, I graduated high school in 2010. I sort of put off college mainly because our family went through some changes during the recession and it kind of spooked me out a little bit. I didn't want to go to school without having decided what I actually wanted to do with my life and then be saddled with debt afterwards. Now it's 2014 and I feel ready to go to school and I'm feeling confident about what I want to do and where I'll be in time.... sort of.

One day, I told my mom about my decision and what my plan of action was. I guess just to bounce my feelings off another person and the closest person being my mom. I explained the fear I had for debt and ending up somewhere where I didn't want to be in life. My parents are middle aged and do often tell me about friends and relatives who are the same age as them struggling in their life from the choices they've made. I take these lessons to heart and I try to learn from their decisions as well as some sound advice from my parents.