U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Non-Romantic Relationships
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 10-04-2014, 12:29 PM

873 posts, read 1,356,284 times

Advertisements

I'll try to make this as brief as possible. I have a 24 year old sister that has a 5 year old kid. Both live at home with her parents (her dad is my stepfather). Once I graduated high school ten years ago, I moved away for college and only lived at home when I was unemployed after graduation. Since then I've lived with relatives in different states while working and I moved out on my own this year. Anyway, my sister (along with parents) have a lot of issues. Which is one of the reasons I no longer live near them. My parents probably make combined 60-80k or even more salary. But they live outside of their means and have caused a financial strain on themselves. They have on several occasions requested that my sister pay for things on her credit card. She in turn as a lot of debt bc of it. Which she complains to me about. Also my sister didn't go to college because my niece was born less than a year after her hs graduation and my parents never forced her to go. I have to constantly hear how much she regrets it. Recently I received a call from a relative saying that my sister stole $1000 from my cousin who recently moved with my parents to get on his feet. She denied the whole thing, but the police have her on camera withdrawing the funds. I'm so sick of hearing about all of the drama that goes on! Of course I'm concerned about my niece. I want the best for her, but I just can't deal with it anymore.