U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Non-Romantic Relationships
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 03-28-2019, 07:08 PM

3,771 posts, read 5,448,501 times

Advertisements

I'm not good at this. But I wonder if most are. If you have been living somewhere for more than a year, do you start to recognize all of those people, who you may have seen at the gas station, or grocery store, etc. So a lot of the people you see everyday close to home, you have seen before?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 03-28-2019, 10:02 PM

9,183 posts, read 9,162,441 times
Other people are better at it than I am. I'm usually wrapped up in my own thoughts and don't necessarily notice other people.

Old 03-28-2019, 10:11 PM

18,004 posts, read 22,741,002 times
I recognize people in my apartment building, but I rarely see them when I'm out and about, but I live in a city with more than a million people now, which is just the way I like it. I hated living in small towns, where everyone knows everything about you - or think they do.

But I have neighbors who are nice and we say hi and chat a bit in the halls, but we're not close. Close enough to keep an eye out for each other, but not intrusive, which I like.

Old 03-28-2019, 10:36 PM

10,390 posts, read 14,226,100 times
I have recently not recognized my adult children when they appeared someplace unexpectedly (I see them often) so not recognizing neighbors doesn't seem like a big thing to me.

Old 03-28-2019, 11:51 PM

6,824 posts, read 2,787,388 times