U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Non-Romantic Relationships
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 05-04-2019, 09:37 AM

86 posts, read 32,173 times

Advertisements

So, I have this hobby where I am an admin on a game. Let explain what I basically do:

1. Go on the game

2. Take reports and talk to players in a special room. (This can last anywhere from 1 minute to over 20 minutes)

3. Help less experienced staff members (sometimes train new ones)

Here is the problem, I have been doing this for over half a year and the problems between me and my family seem to be getting worse. Since there are a lot of players, there is always requests for a staff member and we have to take them no matter what. They require my full attention and I cannot continue other things until it is done.

When I am in the middle of trying to finish a report, I am always needed by my family in some way. I tried to explain to them many times what I do and that I simply just cannot drop what I am doing and walk away. I thought this would get better over time but this seems to be getting worse. I love this hobby but at the same time I don't want it to cause further issues between me and my family.

I like this hobby where I help other people and I would hate to just stop doing it since I worked so hard to get up the ranks. I don't know what to do.

Any advice or suggestions would be really helpful.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 05-04-2019, 09:40 AM

2,309 posts, read 1,176,014 times
Quote:
Originally Posted by LandscapeAritst View Post