U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > North Carolina
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 12-01-2010, 04:34 AM

9 posts, read 25,985 times

Advertisements

Hi everyone.

So right now I live in Rhode Island, and I've been thinking about moving to North Carolina for some time.

I work in the IT industry (Network Admin, Network Engineer, Computer Repair, you name it I'll do it and get the cert and have a BS)

Here are the three big criteria:

1) No cities, cant stand cities, I hate going to the small city of Providence.

2) I Don't mind slowing down, that's the culture I'm looking for, but I don't want to move where there are........ rednecks basically. I don't know how to put it nicely, I'm really sorry. I don't care if your a crazy bastard that has a bon fire and a pig roast (sounds like fun!) I'm more so worried about the drunk with a shotgun type I suppose. (Sorry if I offended, really, I could just be an ignorant d!ck) I know every state has their bad spots, like don't move to an area called arctic village in West Warwick, RI. Dreadful area.

3) I like the type of place where you are like a 10 minute drive into woods yet 15-20 minutes from walmart and a few restaurants. Not completely in the middle of nowhere so you have to drive an hour to pick up something from the store.

Are there general areas you suggest? As far as living requirements it wouldn't be too bad as it is just me and my wife.

Last edited by McDizzle; 12-01-2010 at 04:53 AM..
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 12-01-2010, 07:07 AM

21,094 posts, read 23,822,000 times