U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > North Carolina
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 05-21-2012, 10:31 PM

6 posts, read 15,924 times

Advertisements

Hey all. I have read through the threads but do not really see any that are asking the questions I want opinions on. I am a 32 year old single mother currently living in Northern California. I work in law enforcement and have a great job. I have wanted to move to NC for years and there is no reason not to really. I have read other threads that say I will be bored coming from CA to NC within a year and will miss the quickness of CA, but I by no means like the business of CA, or want to continue living here. I know they are two different worlds, and will have culture shock, but I think what people are assuming by reading the other threads about moving from CA to NC or SC, is that everyone in CA drives convertibles at 100mph and live a fast pace life. I actually live in a very small farming community which is quiet and slow. I want to move to NC because I truly feel that I could provide a better life(cost of living, economy etc) there for my 5 year old son, than I can here. I love it there, and have always felt like I should have been born there rather than here. I have a friend who lives in SC and she said NC is the way to go. So, any suggestions for someone in my situation, such as areas to stay away from, gravitate to would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 05-22-2012, 04:56 AM

28,404 posts, read 61,878,044 times
Quote:
Originally Posted by jenniferyan3565 View Post