U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > North Carolina
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Thread summary:

Relocating from Michigan, heart set on South Carolina, Spartanburg Greenville area, dream house, church, racism, low income, North Carolina possibility, New Bern, crime rate and prostitutes

Old 04-02-2008, 09:25 PM

211 posts, read 490,716 times

Advertisements

I've been researching a place to relocate (from Michigan) for several months. We want to escape the winters for more sunshine and warmth. We are Christians (Baptists) and want a nice, safe place to raise our family (4 kids and 1 on the way), with churches and Christian values. We want to be in a town of less that 40,000 but it HAS to have Walmart, Target, Mall, great restaurants (we love mexican, chinese, PIZZA!), farmers markets, GOOD grocery stores, a zoo, great parks, fun things for kids. Right now we drive 1/2 hour to get groceries, 1 1/2 hours to a mall, with gas prices, you can imagine...NO MORE!!! We want to be able to get everything we want WHERE WE LIVE. We don't want to be in a big city. We want to live somewhat in the country (not in city limits), we HATE subdivisions and would like a big yard. We love charming, old timey towns with town squares, sidewalks for strollers and walking around, clean and well maintained, FRIENDLY people (yes, we are friendly ourselves). We do not go to bars or concerts, aren't into the party scene, we are not "artsy" or so-called "progressives". We are just down home, folksy people, not always looking to be entertained, so a peaceful and quiet town suits us just fine. (Think sitting on a porch swing chatti