U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > North Carolina
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 1.5 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
Jump to a detailed profile or search
site with Google Custom Search

Business Search - 14 Million verified businesses
Search for:  near: 

Old 09-15-2008, 02:58 PM

1 posts, read 1,024 times

Advertisements

Hello all, stumbled upon this site while trying to research some NC info.

A little about myself:

I graduated from college with a BSME in 2006 and have been working full time since. Own a home in western PA with my wife, 6 yr old step-son, and newborn daughter.

We're both fairly underpaid for our jobs, even taking into consideration where we live. We've decided it's time to look a bit further away for jobs.

We've been considering NC lately; fairly nice climate, not too far from family, seems to be a pretty good place to be. A bit less snow is always welcome as well.

Have just been tweeking my resume a bit and should start sending it out this week sometime.

We don't really know where to start residence-wise. It will be dependent on my finding a job and where the position is, my wife will find a job from afterwards.

So far is seems most of the ME positions are in or near the major cities, so outskirts would probably be a good start. We like the country and would like something not too close to neighbors. Good schools would be great. Aside from that, I can shop around for the right home.

Any recommendations as to where to look, or if NC is even worth shopping for an engineering position currently? I know it's fairly vague at the moment seeing as how I don't have a job in NC yet. We're just trying to gain some insight in the event a nice job offer comes along.