U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > North Dakota
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 01-24-2013, 08:57 AM

16 posts, read 29,623 times

Advertisements

Hello, I'm a Michigander born and raised who is recently soon to graduate. I'm a K-12 foreign language teacher (Spanish and French) and my partner is a marketing/business major with an interest in general bank management (like branch manager stuff). I've been wondering about North Dakota as a place to relocate to after graduation. I have to teach 5 years in one school so I was wondering, are education jobs plentiful in North Dakota? Also are banking jobs plentiful? I'd be very willing to research this myself if you can suggest good sources.

Also, on that note I have to ask, how are gay male couples viewed by North Dakotans (in general obviously)? Especially around bigger cities, Fargo, Grand Forks, Bismarck, Minot, Williston, etc.? In smaller towns I'm pretty confident the situation is the same as Michigan.

Also, how is buying a house? We have been privileged to be homeowners in Michigan since we were 19 years old and we would only consider homeownership again, preferably more suburban or rural homeownership. We bought our house for $6000, but we would consider anything under $60,000. Do North Dakota home prices in non-upscale areas range in the under $100,000 category? Again, I'd research this myself if you can suggest good links.

Thank you so much!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 01-24-2013, 11:35 AM

15,824 posts, read 18,440,406 times