U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Pennsylvania > Northeastern Pennsylvania
 [Register]
Northeastern Pennsylvania Scranton, Wilkes-Barre, Pocono area
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 05-13-2014, 06:48 PM

3 posts, read 5,981 times

Advertisements

Hi Everyone,

First, it's exceptional to see so many people on a local forum. I've already got a bunch of information from reading the existing threads.

So, I've accepted a year long position near Wilkes-Barre (about 30 minutes away), and I'm looking for a place to live. I'm an engineer in my early 30s, single, like the outdoors and riding my bike, really like laid back places to hang. I'm looking in and around the Wilkes-Barre downtown area because I like living in the city (I can't stand suburban life), and I've taken a look at a place right by campus which everyone is telling me is in a bad part of town.

I guess I'm basically looking for some guidance about downtown and the surrounding areas, and what to expect. Is the college crazy, or is it laidback? Are there other areas to look at? What's a good chill bar to hang out at? Are there wine bars?

P.S. I'm from one of the 'most dangerous cities in America', and all ya'll sound a like pansies telling me the area around S Franklin and South Street is 'full of crime'. Looks like mansions, foundations, and campus to me.

So please, dish. Let me have it. And thanks!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 05-13-2014, 07:33 PM

1,693 posts, read 3,105,847 times