U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Virginia > Northern Virginia
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 08-26-2010, 08:38 AM

4 posts, read 6,525 times

Advertisements

Good Morning All,

I'm a newbie here. I been lurking awhile and decided to join so I can get some advice. To give you some background Im a 26 yr old single parent moving from a really bad apt building back to my mom's. Im doing this for the sake of saving money with my new promotion, in hopes of affording a decent neighborhood in the near future.

My biggest concern is finding something a 2 br (or even a 1 br plus den) thats affordable for me in a neighborhood with a good elementary school for my daughter. She will be attending pre-k next fall. What neighborhoods should I look in? I would love to stay in the northern arlington, falls church or even Alexandria area because I work in Skyline, and currently commute by bus. My price range would be no more than $1750. I'm open to apt buildings as well as renting condos or townhouses. Thanks for any advice given.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 08-26-2010, 09:18 AM

2,380 posts, read 3,876,107 times
Crime, not really a problem anywhere, but there's a higher risk in South Arlington, Bailey's Crossroads, Seven Corners and Culmore than points further north.

Be sure to consider the entire pyramid, use greatschools to get a decent overview and make sure you're not getting a "bad feeder to a great HS" situation. I am just going off of high schools here since this post has to be kinda short.