U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Virginia > Northern Virginia
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 04-27-2012, 12:14 PM

7 posts, read 17,474 times

Advertisements

I have been teaching in Fairfax County for three years now, but I am growing tired of my commute. I live in Prince William County so that is why I am looking to teach there. I just do not know how to go about getting my name and information out there so that I have a real shot at a getting an interview for a position. Any advice is greatly welcomed. Thanks!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 04-27-2012, 01:34 PM

2,879 posts, read 6,835,979 times
HR was a nightmare, when I applied there. They really drag their feet. Thought I was going to have to go sort faxes for them a few times. Avoid. You've made it three years, that's about a year longer than they average over there. Move closer to work.

Old 04-27-2012, 02:07 PM

8,113 posts, read 12,682,638 times
Quote:
Originally Posted by khuntrevor View Post
Move closer to work.
I don't know the OP's situation, but that might be easier said than done. I commuted from PW and worked for FCPS for a long time before my family was able to afford to move closer to work.

Old 04-27-2012, 02:08 PM

8,113 posts, read 12,682,638 times
Quote:
Originally Posted by luvdeezer View Post