U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Virginia > Northern Virginia
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 07-06-2012, 01:48 PM

5 posts, read 4,230 times

Advertisements

Hi

I recently moved to NOVA area and have liked it so far. I have been teaching math at community colleges for about 10 years now and have been thinking of starting a business or buying a franchise. After doing some research I figured after school coaching classes like kumon, mathnasium etc. are popular here.

My questions are

1. Is it better to start a tutoring business in NOVA or better to go with franchisee model with one of the established names?
2. What is the best way to advertise here? I thought of putting flyers etc. but there are far too many restrictions (e.g. most of corporate chains like safeway, cvs etc. won't allow to put flyers).
3. I live close to Tysons corner (within 22102 zip code), is there a better area suited for this type of business?

Thanks
NB
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 07-06-2012, 02:14 PM

14,131 posts, read 27,018,995 times
Quote:
Originally Posted by nj1550 View Post
Hi

I recently moved to NOVA area and have liked it so far. I have been teaching math at community colleges for about 10 years now and have been thinking of starting a business or buying a franchise. After doing some research I figured after school coaching classes like kumon, mathnasium etc. are popular here.

My questions are

1. Is it better to start a tutoring business in NOVA or better to go with franchisee model with one of the established names?