U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Virginia > Northern Virginia
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 07-28-2012, 05:05 PM

224 posts, read 477,309 times

Advertisements

Hi! I am a little bit new to the area (but not too new). We moved here a year and a half ago from CA. We really want to go and see the Shenandoah Valley this fall. When is THE best time to go? I am a photographer and so I would love to go in the best and brightest time for all the beautiful colors of fall. We have 2 kids ages 5 and 7 and so would you suggest we just leave early (we live in Chantilly) and go home late? or plan on staying 1 night? If so, where do you suggest we stay? Also is there a way in, that doesn't have a super windy road? I've heard of Skyline dr, but is that the only way in? My 7 year old gets very car sick with windy roads or high traffic and will throw up everywhere. So if there is an easy way in, that would be great. Thank you!

Candice
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 07-28-2012, 05:09 PM

14,131 posts, read 26,986,315 times
Peak colors would be last week of October/first week of November. Take the 66 West to the 81 South.

Old 07-28-2012, 05:27 PM

270 posts, read 800,697 times