U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Virginia > Northern Virginia
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 09-16-2012, 01:48 PM

4 posts, read 7,224 times

Advertisements

I am a graduate student interning in Washington, D.C. from January 2013 through April 2013. I have been searching for a studio apartment, but I am finding the prices are incredibly expensive for 4 month leases. I am turned off by the $500 or $600 amenity fees tacked on to the first month's rent, and building controlled access to heating and cooling. I have already investigated several Archstone and Bozzuto properties, and their approximate cost for 4 months is $2300 - $2500/month.

My question is: Can I find another company or housing complex that is more reasonable?

I require the following:
Location: Arlington, Washington, D.C. or Alexandria (a safe location since I am a single female and will be walking home after dark most of the time)
Type of housing: Studio apartment or 1 bedroom
Must be 5 - 7 minute walking distance from the orange or blue line Metro
Washer/dryer inside the apartment
Would prefer underground parking, but it is not necessary

Thanks for any insight you can provide.

I should mention that I am not a student at any D.C./NoVA/Maryland university. I am only moving to the area for the internship and then I will return home once it has concluded.

Last edited by Intern30; 09-16-2012 at 02:47 PM..
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 09-16-2012, 02:40 PM

4,489 posts, read 9,545,108 times