U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Virginia > Northern Virginia
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 07-20-2013, 08:28 PM

6 posts, read 14,832 times

Advertisements

My fiancee and I are getting married and looking to buy a single-family home with a budget of $325,000. Looking for a 3-bedroom and if a little TLC is needed, that is not an issue. We do not have kids yet, but are looking to start in the near future. I am a teacher in LCPS in Ashburn and he does HVAC for Marriott in the Dulles area. Our combined salary is currently $110,000.

Also, is Sterling Park as bad as I've heard it is? Any recommendations of affordable areas to buy would be great appreciated!!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 07-20-2013, 10:16 PM

267 posts, read 442,206 times
Quote:
Originally Posted by eea5016 View Post
Also, is Sterling Park as bad as I've heard it is? Any recommendations of affordable areas to buy would be great appreciated!!
No it isn't. And if you're looking for a SFH for under $300K then Sterling Park is probably your only option unless you want to live in the western part of Loudoun.

Its an older neighborhood with smaller houses and everything isn't new and shiny like it is in Ashburn. But the crime is not significantly worse than Herndon, Reston, or Leesburg.

Old 07-21-2013, 08:16 AM

232 posts, read 294,752 times
I just moved to the area (less than 2 mon ago) from across the country. For what it's worth, I looked at places in Sterling Park and found the area to seem safe and clean; definitely "older". But no major red flags in my opinion.