U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Virginia > Northern Virginia
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 05-29-2014, 12:26 PM

4 posts, read 4,342 times

Advertisements

My husband and I have been living in Crystal City since fall of 2013. We are both in our mid-20s. He left the Army last fall and I graduated from college last spring. Currently he works at a federal contracting agency and is able to walk to work. This week he received an offer from the Treasury Department, and will be earning a GS-9 salary once they get him on board. I had to quit my job in financial sales because of a disability, so we are surviving on his income while I try to set up a writing career. Right now we are paying $1400 a month in rent, plus utilities. When our lease comes due and he no longer has an active duty discount, it will increase to $1600 a month, which we don't think is reasonable for a studio apartment without a washer/dryer, balcony, etc. So we're planning to move once our lease comes due. Other than the high rent, the awful view, and the fact that they just jacked up the laundry prices, we don't have any problems with this complex or our specific unit.

I've been looking around at apartments in the Alexandria/Arlington area, and the only ones that we'd consider worth moving to in terms of price have horrible reviews claiming that the buildings are full of mice and cockroaches! One review even said that drug dealers live in his apartment building and sell product in the parking lot!