Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Virginia > Northern Virginia
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 12-14-2007, 10:36 AM

2 posts, read 5,349 times

Advertisements

Few days back i got a reckless general ticket for merging on to airport access road where there is no merge area form the main free way.
I followed few who already did the same.
I am new to this country and never had a ticket before.
Pl let me know what are the charges/cost does this reckless general costs and i need to appear in the court.
Should i say that i am guilty or not guilty.what will be the end result.
Please suggest, i am bit worried now,,help me
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 12-14-2007, 12:54 PM

1,774 posts, read 2,809,087 times
You need a lawyer first. The whole process will probably end up costing you approx. $3500. Good luck.

Old 12-17-2007, 07:15 PM

1,726 posts, read 5,861,703 times
You do not NEED a lawyer, and the process will not cost you approx $3500. If you don't have a helpful response, why post misinformation here?

Never plead guilty in court to a traffic offense. Pleading not guilty does not mean you are saying that you are "not guilty", but that you are asking for a trial to be conducted and for the state to prove that you are guilty. If the officer forgot his notes, or does not remember the details of the traffic stop, then you are off the hook. Not so if you plead guilty - you will always be found guilty. The judge has no option to find you not guilty if you plead guilty.