U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Virginia > Northern Virginia
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 07-13-2014, 04:17 PM

8,555 posts, read 12,617,038 times

Advertisements

As a former NoVa resident, I am interested in the common math track of students in NoVa, with most interest in FCPS, although I'd love to hear from people in other districts, too such as PW, Loudoun, and Arlington. We moved away from Vienna 2 1/2 years ago to Chapel Hill, NC where there are supposed to be good schools, but I have been less than impressed with my child's middle school. In particular, I am most concerned that they are currently only allowing students who scored in the 95% on end of year exams to be on track to take Algebra 1 in 8th grade and are pushing for most students to take Algebra 1 in 9th grade in high school.

When I look at the middle school we were zoned for in Vienna (Thoreau), it looks like the track for Algebra 1 in 8th grade is open to everyone and you only have to test in if you want to be on track for Algebra 1 in 7th grade. So I am curious, is that what most relatively smart students do in middle school in FCPS and other parts of NoVA - take math 7 honors or math 7 in 7th grade and then do algebra 1 honors or algebra 1 in 8th grade? If so, would you say half the students are on that track or 3/4 students are, etc.? I'm curious because I want to get a feel for how challenging the schools are overall and to figure out if this track would most likely be an option for my children if we decided to move back to NoVA.