U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Virginia > Northern Virginia
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 09-07-2014, 09:56 AM

10 posts, read 9,467 times

Advertisements

Hi all. I searched the thread prior to posting, but didn't find a clear answer and I think my situation is somewhat different from the other posters asking similar questions. I just moved to VA from Florida - I am a full time graduate student in Florida - registered as a Florida Resident through my university - but am on residency in Virginia for one year. I will likely be moving back to FL after one year here. My car registration is up for renewal and I am trying to figure out what I legally have to do for my driver's licence, car registration, and car plates. I have tried searching both the FL and VA DMV websites - but they are quite vague. Of course, I'd prefer to talk to them, but being open only during business hours makes it difficult for me. I would prefer to keep my FL licence, registration, and tags - but want to do this legally. Any help would be extremely appreciated! Thank you!!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 09-07-2014, 10:39 AM

5,083 posts, read 5,351,459 times
It says on this link that if you're living here for longer than 6 months, you'll need to get a VA driver's license.

Virginia Relocation Guide - VA Moving Guide at DMV.org: The DMV Made Simple

And this page on the DMV confirms that:

Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles

And here's the link for titling and registering:

Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles

Old 09-07-2014, 03:46 PM

6,557 posts, read 10,846,462 times