Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Virginia > Northern Virginia
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 02-23-2008, 09:19 AM

1 posts, read 3,410 times

Advertisements

Hello, About a month ago I was charge with reckless driving on I-495 - 77/50. However, I am an Illinois resident with an Illinois driver's license (I'm visiting my mom here in Virginia for a few weeks). Anyway, this is my first driving offense/ticket, and I need to go to court in March. I was doing 77/50 and know I am guilty (I ALWAYS drive at the speed limit now), but here is my question: I heard that if you take a driver improvement class before you're appointed to do so by the court, you can get a 5-point reduction. However, if I am an Illinois resident and take the VA driver improvement class, does that still count? I want to do everything I can to lower my charges (financial and otherwise). Does anyone know for sure what the rules are on that? Thanks.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 02-23-2008, 06:07 PM

82 posts, read 317,853 times
I would talk to a lawyer who possibly might get it reduced and who certainly could advise you better. 77 in a 50 is a lot over-so you might have to take what you get, however.

Old 02-23-2008, 07:36 PM

15,143 posts, read 27,776,049 times
IF you have an otherwise good driving record, I would just show up, be polite - that means alot. Husband had a high speed (therefore reckless) - they reduced it to a fine and he got no points. Don't waste the money on a lawyer. JMO

Old 02-24-2008, 04:22 PM

5 posts, read 25,173 times
Quote: